WOTH: Platinum #16 & #17 – Arcade Game Series: Pac-Man & Ms. Pac-Man

I was never any good at classic arcade games.

I was a 90’s kid, and for the most part, I missed out on the very 80’s experience of going down to the local arcade and spending a few coins for some 8-bit entertainment. Instead, my first gaming experiences came from the Sega MegaDrive, and the original Playstation.

What I’m trying to get at, is this; I absolutely sucked at Pac-Man and Ms. Pac-Man.

The main reason I picked these up as part of the Arcade Game Series Collection, was because I had heard they were pretty easy to get, and they were super cheap – maybe $8 all up for 4 easy platinum trophies. But throughout the relatively short experience, at about 4 to 5 hours each game, I was immensely frustrated. I would have been infinitely more frustrated, if it had not been for two saving graces that I know many others used to it’s full potential.

First of all, the game was “modernised”, in the sense that when you run out of lives, instead of starting all the way back at level 1, you could choose where to start, from levels you’ve already beaten. Oh – and you can give yourself a couple of extra lives. Very handy when you are a ghost magnet like myself. These modern spins on the game were very handy for reaching the later stages you need to beat for some trophies.

Second, Playstation’s ever-so-useful game save backup feature was abused to the full extent. The hardest trophy in the game – eating all 4 ghosts with each of the 4 super pills in one stage – would have taken forever if I hadn’t cheekily saved the game state after each successful feast from a super pill. The amount of time it takes to quit the game, re-load the former save and try again, eventually became the major source of frustration.

I lumped Pac-Man and Ms. Pac-Man in the same entry, because the trophies are near identical to each other, and present the same troubles. The only real difference gameplay-wise, is that in Ms. Pac-Man, the layout changes every couple of stages or so.

If you love your retro gaming classics, or are good at these kind of games, then there are some easy platinum trophies up for grabs here. Otherwise, just abuse the same “exploits” as I did, and you’ll begrudgingly get there.


Currently Playing:

  • The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt (PS4)
  • The Wolf Among Us (PS Vita)
  • Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel (PS4)
  • Borderlands 2: (PS4)
  • Lemmings Touch (PS Vita)
  • Arcade Game Series: Galaga (PS4)

What trophies are you hunting this weekend?

Leave a Reply

